The 10th Anniversary of the formation of the Philippine National Research Centre for Teacher Quality (RCTQ) was celebrated on 18th November 2022 at the Rizal Park Hotel, Manila. The event was attended by UNE’s Professor Mike Wilson and SiMERR Director, Professor John Pegg.

The work of SiMERR-RCTQ formed the basis for a reform Bill in the Philippines Parliament, called the Excellence in Teacher Education Act. The law captures the research undertaken by SiMERR-RCTQ over 10 years, and ensures a fundamental link in the teacher education development continuum from pre-service training to in-service professional development.

RCTQ was established in 2012 by the SiMERR National Research Centre at the Philippine Normal University (PNU) in Manila. The formation was aided by funding from DFAT.

In related news, after serving as Director of RCTQ for six years, Dr. Gina O. Gonong has been appointed as Undersecretary for Curriculum and Instruction of the Department of Education (DepEd).

RCTQ has subsequently welcomed back former deputy director Dr. Jennie Jocson who assumes the top RCTQ job in a concurrent capacity as the Philippine Normal University (PNU) Vice President for Academics.